Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition




Congratulations to the Winners of the Microwave Week 2020 3MT® Competition:


First Place: Jay Sheth, University of Virginia, "Adaptable Wireless Sensor Networks: The Backbone of Future Smart Cities"

Second Place: Mahmoud Wagih, University of Southampton, "Smart Textiles for Recycling Radio Waste"

Third Place: Nikita Mahjabeen, University of Texas at Dallas, "Finding the Musical Notes of Material Properties"

Honorable Mention: Dieff Vital, Florida International University, "Be Gone, Diabetes! Microwave is in the House!"

Honorable Mention: Elif Kaya, Texas A&M University, "A Pocket-Sized Microwave Detector"

Honorable Mention: Baibhab Chatterjee, Purdue University, "The Human Body: A Wire for Wireless Communications"

M/C Choice: Mohammadreza Ranjbar Naeini, University of Wisconsin, "Empowering 5G Antenna Measurements"

Audience Choice: Baibhab Chatterjee, Purdue University, "The Human Body: A Wire for Wireless Communications"


What is 3MT®?

Now in its fourth year at Microwave Week, the Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition is designed for eligible students and young professionals, who indicated upon submission of a paper their desire to enter the competition and whose paper is accepted for either oral or interactive forum presentation.

The 3MT® contestants will make a presentation of three minutes or less, supported only by one static slide, in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience.

3MT® Goals

The Microwave Week 2020 3MT® Competition is designed to stimulate interest in the wide range of applications of microwave technology. Such information would help renew public interest in microwaves as a transformative technology that is rewarding both to those who study it, and to those whose daily lives benefit from incorporation of scientific developments in consumer products.

What is 3MT®, Why is it Beneficial, How is it Judged, and How to Prepare

Microwave Week 2020 3MT® Competition Rules

Tuesday, 4 August 2020
09:00-13:00 Pacific Daylight Time

The virtual event will be live-streamed to the audience and judges, and can be accessed via the Microwave Week virtual platform.

Microwave Week 2020 3MT® Organizers:
John Bandler, Co-chair
Erin Kiley, Co-chair

Master of Ceremonies: Sherry Hess, Product Marketing Group Director, Cadence


  • Cheryl Ernst, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Sarah Hartman-Caverly, Penn State Berk
  • Rachelle Ho, McMaster University
  • Ron McCurdy, University of Southern California
  • Heidi Rose, Villanova University

Click here to meet our M/C and Judges

List of 2020 Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Finalists